Tags

Now that we live in the age of the iPhone and crazed social media, I have to remind myself to pull out the big camera and take “real” pictures of my children. Brandon and I wrote out a list of goals for 2014 and one of mine is to master Lightroom and thereby hone my photography skills. There is no better subject than your own baby.

Noah is seven weeks old!!! It’s trite but true that time is fleeting. Clear as day I can recall almost every minute of Noah’s labor and birth, so to look at him here before me already filling out and changing is mind-blowing. He’s up to 9 lbs and catching up fast to where William was at this age.

His personality is starting to emerge despite the colic and reflux that set in right at the six-week mark. I’ve come to terms with the fact that I am clearly only able to produce colicky babies…This time around though it’s far less jarring and we have figured out how to effectively tag-team the situation – especially when it’s hours and hours of crying. In those moments I am truly thankful that Brandon is my partner.

Noah has completed our family in a way I did not know it needed completing. In the moments when William is stroking Noah’s feet or rubbing his head, I feel overwhelming gratitude. Gratitude that they will have one another, but also gratitude that I actually made these two little ones and have the pleasure of raising them and guiding them. In the moments when things really are hard, it’s that feeling that always pushes me through.

Noah has proven an excellent partner in my photography practice. In the moments when he is clearly not in pain or crying, he is the calmest, most serene baby. Peaceful.
DSC_0012 DSC_0021 DSC_0025 DSC_0057 DSC_0061