Tags

FullSizeRenderOn nights when I’m at home without Brandon and left to put the boys to sleep by myself I always sing Amazing Grace. I never bothered to learn any actual lullabies so Amazing Grace is my go-to song. I just sing it on repeat until Noah falls asleep in my arms and William eventually gives up fighting sleep. Sometimes William tries to sing along and will throw in a word or two that he remembers. He often is the one to request it.

One night this week I had the two of them at bedtime by myself, and as I started to rock Noah to sleep William asked if I would sing Amazing Grace. Every time I got to the end of the song, Noah would sign “more” and I would start over. After I had run through the song at least eight times, Noah turned around, put his hand over my mouth and said, “Thank you.” He promptly went to sleep. This is funny for a few reasons. One is that Noah is pretty much nonverbal. He is in speech therapy and is starting to say a few words here and there but saying “thank you” clear as day in that context was amazing to me. Also, the fact that he had his fill of the song and was able to communicate that was pretty remarkable. I haven’t laughed that hard in a long time.

 

